text-bkg-box
text-bkg-box

Team

Board Of Directors

The Brevard C.A.R.E.S. board of directors give selflessly of their time and resources to support our programs and services and ensure that we fulfill our mission, while promoting the benefits of our system of care throughout the community.

The Board of Directors meet on the first Wednesday of every month at 4:30PM at the Brevard C.A.R.E.S. office, located at 4085 S. US Hwy. 1, in Rockledge. For more information, contact us at (321) 632-2737.

Dan Rodgers – Board Chair

Dan Rodgers – Board Chair

Dan Rodgers was appointed the Chairman of the Brevard CARES board in June 2018. He has served on the CARES board since 2017.

He is the retired Chief Probation Officer for the Department of Juvenile Justice in Circuit 18.  It was during this time that Mr. Rodgers became acquainted with the services provided by Brevard CARES. 

As a result, Brevard CARES was asked to help prevent youth in secure detention from being ordered into foster care due to a parent’s refusal to take their child home after the detention period.  CARES provided services to families struggling with their child’s behavior and prevented many youth from being adjudicated dependent and placed in foster care.

Prior to his DJJ service, Mr. Rodgers was a foster care counselor working with teenage youth living is a foster care placement.

Mr. Rodgers retired from the United States Air Force in 1990. He is married and has one adult son.

christa bailey

Christa Bailey – Board Co-Chair

Christa Bailey returns to the Brevard CARES Board.  Christa is co-owner of ACES of Brevard, a company that builds and services mobile command centers for military and police.  She and her husband run the locally owned business together. After moving from New Jersey to Florida in 1991, Christa helped run All Brevard Irrigation and Landscaping with her

husband.  She was co-owner of the business, which focused on new homes.  Christa has also worked as an activities director in two local assisted living facilities where she enjoyed helping residents step outside the average day to day routine and fully enjoy life as seniors. Christa and her husband have lived in their Brevard home for 27 years, raising their son and now their daughters. Christa is a former Brevard Family Partnership Board member. She currently home-schools her daughters.  As a family with her son, daughter-in-law, and granddaughter, they enjoy traveling, theme parks, and exploring each other’s interests.  Christa’s experiences as a mom, foster mom, adoptive mom and CARES Alumni help drive her passion for the CARES mission.

Paula Ferrell – Community Member

Paula Ferrell – Treasurer

Paula Ferrell recently retired from Brevard Public Schools (BPS). She worked in the educational system for over 40 years, beginning her career as a teacher of severely emotionally disturbed students. Working with these students and families, she gained a passion for the mental health field and

building mentally healthy thinking skills. During her career, she became Project Manager for SEDNET (Students with Emotional/Behavioral Disabilities Multi-agency Network) and, later, the Safe and Drug-Free Schools Project. In this role, she was able to connect mental health and substance abuse, providing research-based programs to help build resiliency (mentally healthy thinking) in students and families. Paula worked with local mental health and substance abuse agencies to provide services to Brevard Public School students. She also created a BPS Mental Health Resource Guide for School Guidance Counselors and families’ use.

She was blessed with raising three sons and a grandson. Her life experiences as a mother and grandmother had a profound influence on her education in youth interaction.

In retirement, Paula looks forward to continuing the pursuit of her passion for educating and supporting the building of resiliency in children and families.

Lori Huertas – Community Member

Lori Huertas – Community Member

Lori Huertas is an Army mom and an ambitious, bilingual professional who helps military families transform their lives. On top of her passion for helping couples with some unique and extraordinary challenges of military relationships, Lori is also co-author of The Christian Therapist Notebook — a counseling guidebook for therapists and patients.

A strong proponent of education, Lori is the Regional Recruitment Manager of Melbourne and Central Florida for Barry University and is currently pursuing her Ph.D. in Human Services with Military Families specialization. Lori believes in actively giving back to those around her, and is an avid volunteer supporting the USO, Blue Star Families, Children’s Hunger Project, Early Learning Coalition, and Partners in Education. She further gives her time as an Ambassador for the Melbourne Chamber of Commerce. We appreciate and are proud of her strides in her community involvement and in supporting our nation’s military and their families!

Tracy Newman – Community Member

Tracy Newman – Community Member

Mrs. Tracy L. Newman has lived in Brevard County since 1982. She holds a J.D. from Barry University College of Law, as well as a Master’s Degree in Social Work from the University of Central Florida. She is a practicing Attorney in Brevard County and licensed to practice in the United States

District Court for the Middle District of Florida. Mrs. Newman owns her own law firm in Melbourne.

Mrs. Newman holds the position as an Adjunct Instructor for three different Universities and Colleges and has taught for over 15 years.  She is also a Licensed Clinical Social Worker and works in a community agency doing counseling and visitation.

Mrs. Newman is passionate about services to help families and believes the key to success is having a strong community and social service system. She believes that Brevard County is a strong community that supports those in need and provides access to services. She is a big supporter of the social service community to provide the best care to help strengthen families.

In her spare time, she enjoys true crime books, traveling, and time with her family and friends. She is married with two boys.

Executive Team

Phil Scarpelli – CEO

Phil Scarpelli – CEO

(321) 752-4650 Ext. 3064
Phil.Scarpelli@brevardfp.org

Phil Scarpelli is the Chief Executive Officer of the Brevard Family Partnership Family of Agencies. Phil joined Brevard Family Partnership in November 2018. He has been proudly involved in Florida’s child welfare system since the inception of privatization, as early as the late 1990’s.  Previously, Phil worked as part of the Department of Children and Families Central Region’s Leadership on the professional development and talent management of its middle and senior managers. Prior to that he was the State Director with Key Assets Florida, Inc., part of the International Core Assets Group, a leading children’s services provider.

Phil has 30 years of experience working in behavioral healthcare and child welfare in both clinical and administrative capacities. Throughout his career, he has been committed to children and families at risk, and to the development of a perpetual learning environment willing to challenge the status quo, embrace innovation, inclusion, transparency, and trust.

Phil has a Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology and Gerontology from Iona College and a Master’s Degree in Psychology from Yeshiva University

Kathryn Parker - Executive Director

Kathryn Parker – Executive Director
LMHC #14889

(321) 506-9617
Kathryn.Parker@brevardcares.org

Kathryn began her mental health career teaching life skills to adults with major mental illnesses such as schizophrenia and bipolar disorder. Through this work, Kathryn was able to observe the impact families can have that may help or hinder a person with a major mental illness. This caused Kathryn to begin work with children and families. She was able to help educate families on how to help their loved ones lead their best life possible. Kathryn has been working with children’s issues for over 15 years.

Kathryn transitioned to the Department of Children and Families as a Child Protective Investigator. It was through this work that she discovered that she was passionate about helping families before there is a need to have court involvement. She began working for Brevard C.A.R.E.S in 2015. Kathryn was initially hired as a Diversion Care Coordinator. Since that time, she has served in the roles of Family Engagement Specialist for the Safety Management Team, Mobile Response Team Coordinator, Non-Judicial In Home Services Supervisor and Chief Operations Officer.  Kathryn has Wrap Around Certification through the National Center for Innovation and Excellence and provides support to the Brevard C.A.R.E.S. team through ongoing training and team development. She believes that having clinical training helps bring a perspective to managing the safety of children by bringing an understanding of how past trauma can impact parenting and ongoing behavioral change.

Kathryn graduated with a MS in Counseling Psychology from Palm Beach Atlantic University in August of 2012. She completed her Licensed Mental Health in Counseling in March of 2018. She also has a Bachelor’s in Administration from Columbia College and worked several years as an Assistant Branch manager for a national financial institution.

Kathryn is married with three children and is very involved with the worship team at her church. She believes a person’s religion, or the lack thereof, can have a significant impact on their ability to heal.

Leadership Team

Osha Fordom, BSBA, Executive Office Manager
Osha.Fordom@Brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 750-3615

Rebecca Melick, MSW, Director of Operations
Rebecca.Melick@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 349-6461

Syrian McConnico, MA, LMHC, Clinical Services Senior Manager
Syrian.McConnico@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 210-9941

Heather Gibb, Safety Services Senior Manager
Heather.Gibb@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 616-5059

Staff Directory

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Office Support

Dian Louks, Administrative Support
Dian.Louks@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 417-1028

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Community Services Team

Jessica Miles, Community Services Program Manager
Jessica.Miles@Brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 616-3049

Bridget LeBoeuf, Child and Family Service Specialist
Bridget.LeBoeuf@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 417-1132

Marina Lozano, Head Start Care Coordinator
Luz.Lozano@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 616-5177

LaShica Kelly, Child and Family Service Specialist
LaShica.Kelly@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 616-3516

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Wraparound Services

Peter Tessier, Wraparound Coach
Peter.Tessier@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 616-4895

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Housing Services

Kirsten Larson, Housing Specialist/COI Care Coordinator
Kirsten.Larson@brevardcares.org  Cell: (321) 604-1892

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Family Support Services Team

Shannon Wildman, Family Support Services Supervisor
Shannon.Wildman@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 616-3515

Samone Dukes, Wraparound Care Coordinator
Samone.Dukes@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 604-6017

Maggie Pierce, Wraparound Care Coordinator
Maggie.Pierce@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 616-4520

Melaine Bond, Wraparound Care Coordinator
Melaine.Bond@brevardcares.org   Cell: (321)-349-7122

Rebecca Brooks, Wraparound Care Coordinator
Rebecca.Brooks@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 290-4182

Laketra Chick, Diversion Care Coordinator
Laketra.Chick@brevardcares.org (321) 349-6412

Kimberly Cone, Wraparound Care Coordinator
Kimberly.Cone@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 210-0307

Hillary Razzano, Wraparound Care Coordinator
Hillary.Razzano@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 290-4183

Maria Andrew, Family Advocate Specialist
Maria.Andrew@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 576-2089

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Safety Management Services Team (SMST)

Yohan Simpson, Lead Family Engagement Coordinator
Yohan.Simpson@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 349-5105

Elisabeth “Lis” Barlowe, Family Engagement Coordinator
Elisabeth.Barlowe@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 604-0527

Aisha Lewis, Family Engagement Coordinator
Aisha.Missick@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 349-6456

Michelle Toledo, Family Engagement Coordinator
Michelle.Toledo@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 576-2400

Debbie Bragg-Caron, Family Advocate Specialist
Debra.Bragg-Caron@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 616-3187

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Parenting With Love & Limits Team (PLL)

Vanessa Senior, Parenting with Love and Limits Therapist
Vanessa.Senior@Brevardcares.org Cell: (404) 435-8220

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Mobile Response Team (MRT)

Christine Williams-Kelly, M.A., LMHC #16677, Mobile Response Team Program Manager
Christine.Williams-kelly@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 890-7368

Tommy Shoriak, MRT Therapist
Tommy.Shoriak@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 210-9436

Jaeden Huhta, MRT  Therapist
Jaeden.Huhta@brevardcares.org  Cell: (321) 604-5079

Michelle DeAngelo, MRT Therapist
Michelle.DeAngelo@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 210-9436

Rose Topal, MRT Therapist
Rose.Topal@brevardcares.org  Cell:

Rhonda Shoup, MRT Care Coordinator
Rhonda.Shoup@brevardcares.org  Cell: (321) 634-4434

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Non-Judicial In-Home Services Team Unit 402

Karen Menges, Non Judicial In Home Services Supervisor
Karen.Menges@brevardcares.org (321) 349-5180

Sandy Gotwalt, Lead Diversion Care Coordinator
Sandra.Gotwalt@brevardcares.org (321) 349-5270

Cathleen Allen, Diversion Care Coordinator
Cathleen.Allen@brevardcares.org (321) 890-4281

Sarah Mooney, Diversion Care Coordinator
Sarah.Mooney@brevardcares.org (321) 210-9718

Terrell Melvin, Diversion Care Coordinator
Terrell.Melvin@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 615-2076

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Non-Judicial In-Home Services Team Unit 400

Yvette McCain, Non Judicial In Home Services Supervisor
Yvette.McCain@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 616-5202

Sirena Brown, Lead Diversion Care Coordinator
Sirena.Brown@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 313-5559

Jade Rexach, Diversion Care Coordinator
Jade.Rexach@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 616-3423

Lindsey Gregg, Diversion Care Coordinator
Lindsey.Gregg@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 349-6410

Davine Vincent, Diversion Care Coordinator
Davine.Vincent@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 576-2428

Jazzilyn Breland, Diversion Care Coordinator
Jazzilyn.Breland@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 290-3713

Alex Gato, Family Advocate Specialist
Alex.Gato@brevardcares.org Cell: (321) 307-1548

Quote mark decoration