text-bkg-box
text-bkg-box

Team

Brevard C.A.R.E.S Advisory Council

The Brevard C.A.R.E.S Advisory Council give selflessly of their time and resources to support our programs and services and ensure that we fulfill our mission, while promoting the benefits of our system of care throughout the community.

The Advisory Council meet on the first Wednesday of every month at 4:30PM at the Brevard C.A.R.E.S. office, located at 4085 S. US Hwy. 1, in Rockledge. For more information, contact us at (321) 632-2737.

Dan Rodgers – Board Chair

Dan Rodgers – Advisory Council Chair

Dan Rodgers was appointed the Chairman of the Brevard CARES Advisory Council in June 2018. He has served on the CARES Advisory Council since 2017.

He is the retired Chief Probation Officer for the Department of Juvenile Justice in Circuit 18. It was during this time that Mr. Rodgers became acquainted with the services provided by Brevard CARES.

As a result, Brevard CARES was asked to help prevent youth in secure detention from being ordered into foster care due to a parent’s refusal to take their child home after the detention period.  CARES provided services to families struggling with their child’s behavior and prevented many youth from being adjudicated dependent and placed in foster care.

Prior to his DJJ service, Mr. Rodgers was a foster care counselor working with teenage youth living is a foster care placement.

Mr. Rodgers retired from the United States Air Force in 1990. He is married and has one adult son.

christa bailey

Christa Bailey – Advisory Council Co-Chair

Christa Bailey returns to the Brevard CARES Advisory Council. Christa is co-owner of ACES of Brevard, a company that builds and services mobile command centers for military and police. She and her husband run the locally owned business together. After moving from New Jersey to Florida in 1991, Christa helped run All Brevard Irrigation and Landscaping with her husband.

She was co-owner of the business, which focused on new homes. Christa has also worked as an activities director in two local assisted living facilities where she enjoyed helping residents step outside the average day to day routine and fully enjoy life as seniors. Christa and her husband have lived in their Brevard home for 27 years, raising their son and now their daughters.

Christa is a former Brevard Family Partnership Board member. She currently home-schools her daughters. As a family with her son, daughter-in-law, and granddaughter, they enjoy traveling, theme parks, and exploring each other’s interests. Christa’s experiences as a mom, foster mom, adoptive mom and CARES Alumni help drive her passion for the CARES mission.

Paula Ferrell – Community Member

Paula Ferrell – Treasurer

Paula Ferrell recently retired from Brevard Public Schools (BPS). She worked in the educational system for over 40 years, beginning her career as a teacher of severely emotionally disturbed students. Working with these students and families, she gained a passion for the mental health field and

building mentally healthy thinking skills. During her career, she became Project Manager for SEDNET (Students with Emotional/Behavioral Disabilities Multi-agency Network) and, later, the Safe and Drug-Free Schools Project. In this role, she was able to connect mental health and substance abuse, providing research-based programs to help build resiliency (mentally healthy thinking) in students and families. Paula worked with local mental health and substance abuse agencies to provide services to Brevard Public School students. She also created a BPS Mental Health Resource Guide for School Guidance Counselors and families’ use.

She was blessed with raising three sons and a grandson. Her life experiences as a mother and grandmother had a profound influence on her education in youth interaction.

In retirement, Paula looks forward to continuing the pursuit of her passion for educating and supporting the building of resiliency in children and families.

Tracy Newman – Community Member

Tracy Newman – Community Member

Mrs. Tracy L. Newman has lived in Brevard County since 1982. She holds a J.D. from Barry University College of Law, as well as a Master’s Degree in Social Work from the University of Central Florida. She is a practicing Attorney in Brevard County and licensed to practice in the United States

District Court for the Middle District of Florida. Mrs. Newman owns her own law firm in Melbourne.

Mrs. Newman holds the position as an Adjunct Instructor for three different Universities and Colleges and has taught for over 15 years.  She is also a Licensed Clinical Social Worker and works in a community agency doing counseling and visitation.

Mrs. Newman is passionate about services to help families and believes the key to success is having a strong community and social service system. She believes that Brevard County is a strong community that supports those in need and provides access to services. She is a big supporter of the social service community to provide the best care to help strengthen families.

In her spare time, she enjoys true crime books, traveling, and time with her family and friends. She is married with two boys.

Tracy Newman – Community Member

Brittany Bartusek – Community Member

Mrs. Brittany Bartusek is a proud Brevard Native. Brittany attended West Shore Jr/Sr High School, where she truly became passionate about giving back to her community and organized a community health fair for her Senior Project. This project sparked her interest in pursuing her education to help others for a lifetime.

Brittany graduated from the University of Central Florida with a Bachelor of Science in Psychology and a Master of Social Work. Brittany is a Licensed Master Social Worker in Texas and a Licensed a Clinical Social Worker/Qualified Supervisor in the State of Florida. Brittany has an array of experience from working in healthcare, community based therapy for all ages, school social worker, and victim services. Brittany seeks to give back to others and strongly advocates for those who may have lost their voice.

Brittany is a wife and a mother who enjoys spending time at the beach, in the water or going to parks with her family.

Executive Team

Phil Scarpelli – CEO

Phil Scarpelli – President and Chief Executive Officer
(321) 752-4650 Ext. 3064
Phil.Scarpelli@brevardfp.org

Phil Scarpelli is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Brevard Family Partnership Family of Agencies. Phil joined Brevard Family Partnership in November 2018. He has been proudly involved in Florida’s child welfare system since the inception of privatization, as early as the late 1990’s.

Previously, Phil worked as part of the Department of Children and Families Central Region’s Leadership on the professional development and talent management of its middle and senior managers. Prior to that he was the State Director with Key Assets Florida, Inc., part of the International Core Assets Group, a leading children’s services provider.

Phil has 30 years of experience working in behavioral healthcare and child welfare in both clinical and administrative capacities. Throughout his career, he has been committed to children and families at risk, and to the development of a perpetual learning environment willing to challenge the status quo, embrace innovation, inclusion, transparency, and trust.

Phil has a Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology and Gerontology from Iona College and a Master’s Degree in Psychology from Yeshiva University

Kathryn Parker - Executive Director

Rebecca Melick, MSW – Interim Executive Director
321-752-4650 Ext. 1019
Rebecca.Melick@brevardcares.org

Rebecca has been working with children and families in Brevard County for the last ten years. She obtained her Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) in 2012 and went on to receive her master’s degree in Social Work (MSW) in 2013 from The University of Central Florida.

Rebecca has worked within her preferred area of social work, child welfare, for most of her career. She started with the Department of Children and Families where she served as a Child Protective Investigator and eventually became a Senior Child Protective Investigator. She has held her Child Welfare Certification since 2014.

Rebecca transitioned to a supervisory role with the Non-Judicial In-Home Services program with Brevard CARES, was promoted to Program Director in 2019, and Director of Operations in 2021. Currently, Rebecca holds the position of Interim Executive Director, where she is able to­­ utilize the hands-on experience she has obtained, along with her passion for strengths-based family engagement, to promote change within the community she serves.

Leadership Team

Osha Fordom, BSBA, Executive Office Manager
Osha.Fordom@Brevardcares.org

Syrian McConnico, MA, LMHC, Clinical Services Senior Manager
Syrian.McConnico@brevardcares.org

Heather Gibb, Safety Services Senior Manager
Heather.Gibb@brevardcares.org

Staff Directory

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Office Support

Launda Johnson, Administrative Support
Launda.Johnson@brevardcares.org

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Community Services Team

Jessica Miles, Community Services Program Manager
Jessica.Miles@Brevardcares.org

Marina Lozano, Head Start Care Coordinator
Luz.Lozano@brevardcares.org

LaShica Kelly, Child and Family Service Specialist
LaShica.Kelly@brevardcares.org

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Wraparound Services

Peter Tessier, Wraparound Coach
Peter.Tessier@brevardcares.org

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Housing Services

Jade Rexach, Housing Specialist/COI Care Coordinator
Jade.Rexach@brevardcares.org

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Family Support Services Team

Shannon Wildman, Family Support Services Supervisor
Shannon.Wildman@brevardcares.org

Maggie Pierce, Lead Family Support Services Coordinator
Maggie.Pierce@brevardcares.org

Samone Dukes, Family Support Services Coordinator
Samone.Dukes@brevardcares.org

Melaine Bond, Family Support Services Coordinator
Melaine.Bond@brevardcares.org

Rebecca Brooks, Family Support Services Coordinator
Rebecca.Brooks@brevardcares.org

Laketra Chick, Family Support Services Coordinator
Laketra.Chick@brevardcares.org 

Toni Feliciano, Family Support Services Coordinator
Toni.Feliciano@brevardcares.org

Holly Graftin-Watkins, Family Support Services Coordinator
Holly.Graftin-Watkins@brevardcares.org

Ashley Valdez, Family Support Services Coordinator
Ashley.Valdez@brevardcares.org 

Maria Andrew, Family Advocate Specialist
Maria.Andrew@brevardcares.org

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Safety Management Services Team (SMST)

Yohan Simpson, Lead Family Engagement Coordinator
Yohan.Simpson@brevardcares.org

Elisabeth “Lis” Barlowe, Family Engagement Coordinator
Elisabeth.Barlowe@brevardcares.org

Aisha Lewis, Family Engagement Coordinator
Aisha.Missick@brevardcares.org

Michelle Toledo, Family Engagement Coordinator
Michelle.Toledo@brevardcares.org

Debbie Bragg-Caron, Family Advocate Specialist
Debra.Bragg-Caron@brevardcares.org

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Parenting With Love & Limits Team (PLL)

Vanessa Senior, Parenting with Love and Limits Therapist
Vanessa.Senior@Brevardcares.org

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Mobile Response Team (MRT)

Christine Williams-Kelly, M.A., LMHC #16677, Mobile Response Team Program Manager
Christine.Williams-kelly@brevardcares.org

Jaeden Huhta, MRT  Therapist
Jaeden.Huhta@brevardcares.org

Michelle DeAngelo, MRT Therapist
Michelle.DeAngelo@brevardcares.org

Rose Topal, MRT Therapist
Rose.Topal@brevardcares.org

Rhonda Shoup, MRT Care Coordinator
Rhonda.Shoup@brevardcares.org

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Non-Judicial In-Home Services Team Unit 402

Karen Menges, Non Judicial In Home Services Supervisor
Karen.Menges@brevardcares.org 

Sandy Gotwalt, Lead Diversion Care Coordinator
Sandra.Gotwalt@brevardcares.org 

Cathleen Allen, Diversion Care Coordinator
Cathleen.Allen@brevardcares.org 

Patrina Ross, Diversion Care Coordinator
Patrina.Ross@brevardcares.org

Matthew Natale, Family Advocate Specialist
Matthew.Natale@brevardcares.org

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Non-Judicial In-Home Services Team Unit 400

Yvette McCain, Non Judicial In Home Services Supervisor
Yvette.McCain@brevardcares.org

Sirena Brown, Lead Diversion Care Coordinator
Sirena.Brown@brevardcares.org

Davine Vincent, Diversion Care Coordinator
Davine.Vincent@brevardcares.org

Jazzilyn Breland, Diversion Care Coordinator
Jazzilyn.Breland@brevardcares.org

Kayonna Marshall, Diversion Care Coordinator
Kayonna.Marhsall@brevardcares.org

Brevard Behavioral Health Expansion team

Shantinese Jackson, Wraparound Supervisor
Shan.Jackson@brevardcares.org

Aireil Mason, Care Coordinator
Aireil.Mason@brevardcares.org

Kayla Farmer, Care Coordinator
Kayla.Farmer@brevardcares.org

Glora Thomas, Care Coordinator
Glora.Thomas@brevardcares.org 

Jonathan Peoples, Family Advocate Specialist
Jonathan.Peoples@brevardcares.org

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Wraparound Team

LaToya Dukes, Care Coordinator
LaToya.Dukes@brevardcares.org

Rachel Headley, Family Advocate Specialist
Rachel.Headley@brevardcares.org

Ananda Honculada, Family Advocate Specialist
Ananda.Honculada@brevardcares.org

Brevard C.A.R.E.S. Family Navigation Support Team

Apphia Glenn, Clinical Services Specialist
Apphia.Glenn@brevardcares.org

Lindsey Gregg, Family Navigator
Lindsey.Gregg@brevardcares.org

Quote mark decoration